When a new lead or deal is created, a label called "new" is added to those leads and deals. This label acts as a visual indicator that these leads or deals are "new" enabling you to quickly identify them and perform further actions.
The "new" label would be removed if either of the below actions are performed on the lead/deal.
A note, task or call is added.
A file is uploaded.
An email/SMS is sent.